President Donald Trump has signed into law H.R. 991, the bipartisan Extension of the Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act. Representatives Brad Wenstrup (R-OH) and Terri Sewell (D-AL) sponsored the legislation, which extends the expiring Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act (CBTPA) through 2030. 

CBTPA is a preferential trade agreement that provides for duty and quota-free access for some apparel products manufactured in designated beneficiary Caribbean Basin region countries. CBTPA also requires that Caribbean Basin countries use US formed yarns, fabrics and thread.

 “The bipartisan effort to reauthorize this program will allow us to export more American-made goods and strengthen Western supply chains, while contributing to economic development and job creation in Haiti and other countries throughout the Caribbean Basin region,” Rep. Sewell said. 

Eligible countries include Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, the British Virgin Islands, Curacao, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago